Our Eating Systems


A truck turned a corner with a sign on its side panel that said, “Is your eating system working efficiently?” Eating system?

Actually, I’d misread the sign because the ‘h’ in heating was out of sight. But the question got me to thinking of the connection between heating and eating systems. While we eat to fuel our bodies, food is far more than fuel—it’s one of the joys of life.

A non-dieter since 2009, I follow an eating system that depends on internal hunger and fullness cues. But I still get hung up on eating at times. Some mornings find me starting the day with food fantasies that continue all day long, particularly when I’m stressing out over something. Fuel or food beyond what we can use gets stored, and who wants to carry that around?

My eating system’s working well for the most part because I’m slowly but surely adjusting to not putting external limits on what I eat. If I paid attention more often to my fullness level before and during meals, however, my weight would naturally decrease, but at least it’s stabilized, judging from the way my clothes fit. The hard part is not having a waist. Sigh. Maybe in time. But one thing that’s changing is I don’t go driving around town to find the freshest donut or cinnamon roll or whatever as often as I used to. It’s just not the way I want to spend my time.

How’s your eating system working? I’d like to hear about it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy Owens
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 14:05:59

    Norma, I just read every post on this blog and so connected with each one. Found myself thinking of comments and stories to tell. I love how you share your heart…struggles, triumphs and history. Your writing inspires me! The idea of quitting dieting (a different one every few months) seems at once freeing yet terrifying. But the idea of having my own choice is very appealing. I think the “freeing” will win!

    Reply

    • Norma
      Nov 23, 2013 @ 15:08:35

      Thank you so much for all that reading, Cathy! I would have never guessed that you’ve struggled with dieting, too, and I would love to hear your stories.

      Reply

  2. Laurie
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 16:14:27

    I like your comment about *paying attention* to your fulness level! I find that I often over-eat when I am with a group because I’m so interested in the conversation that I forget to pay attention to how much I’m putting in my mouth. I certainly notice when I’m overfull at the end of the meal, though!!

    Thanks for your post!

    Reply

    • Norma
      Nov 24, 2013 @ 19:06:27

      Yes, that’s the sticky part for me, too. Sometimes at buffets, I decide ahead of time to fill only one plate, and that makes me determined to savor every bite. Not that I savor every last one, but I try. Thanks for your comment, Laurie!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

