Got Goodies?


Can you name all the goodies in your house? I can. On the shelf next to the cereal is a package of Kettle® Sea Salt Potato Chips, on the counter there’s a pan of Hershey’s® Frosted Brownies that I made this afternoon, and

in the freezer are containers of Häagen-dazs® Raspberry Sorbet and Mango Sorbet—their intense flavors wake up even the most worn-out taste buds!—plus vanilla ice cream, a staple at our house.

At the moment, oddly enough, there are no Charleston Chew® or Milky Way® candy bars, Tootsie Rolls®, or See’s® Peanut Brittle, all favorites of mine. Why? Because I didn’t buy any. Wasn’t even tempted, believe it or not.

For some reason, although I forget inconsequential things like what I went downstairs for or where I left the book I’m reading, I don’t forget sweets that are hiding in the cupboards unless I don’t care for them, e.g., dark chocolate, or unless I’ve wrapped them in butcher paper and stuck them in the freezer, a habit prompted by a plethora of Halloween candy years ago and perpetuated because it’s always so much fun, weeks or months later, to come across a mystery package full of fun-size tidbits I’ve completely forgotten.

So, for this weekend, I decided to satisfy my sweet tooth with what’s on hand. Fortunately, there’s plenty!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Nill
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 20:23:39

    There are a couple of goodies I simply can’t have in the house; I go crazy with them: homemade Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies and jars of Nutella (which I eat by the spoonful). As I recall, though, your brownies might also be such a temptation!

    Reply

    • Norma
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 10:45:45

      Oh, I forgot about chocolate chip cookies–they’re one of my faves, too. Nice that you understand, Judy!

      Reply

    • Rebekah
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 14:19:23

      I made the mistake of buying Nutella at Costco once. Lesson learned!

      Reply

      • Norma
        Jun 18, 2011 @ 23:26:17

        I didn’t know that about you! Funny how different things termpt different people. (I have a jar of Nutella in the cupboard that’s been there for a couple of months unopened.) Appreciate your input, Bekah!

Leave a Reply

