In Need of a Boring Book


A couple of days ago, after I’d stayed up late and gotten up early, by late afternoon I felt awful and my eyes were sandpapery, but I was too wound up to take a nap. Without much thought, I succumbed to a serious case of the munchies and ate a ton of comfort food, including potato chips and chocolate. Okay, so I also drank a glass of milk.

Curled up with a book and a blanket, I grew drowsy within a few minutes and slept for nearly two luxurious hours. Only afterwards did I realize the dynamics of the situation: I had eaten from the need for sedation. And it worked. But at what cost to good nutrition? That evening, I skipped dinner because I wasn’t hungry, so the only nutrients I got were in the chips and chocolate and milk. No veggies, no fruit. Hm.

Next time I’m in need of a nap, I plan to skip the starchy foods and go straight for the blanket and a book, preferably a boring one!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Nill
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 12:53:09

    Boy, do I relate, Norma! Something I’ve found works nearly as well for sedation purposes but which has better nutritional value is dates with a little peanutbutter or almond butter spread on them. Plus the milk, of course!

    Reply

    • Norma
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 20:24:14

      Interesting combination, Judy! I love dates and nut butters–not sure about putting them together. : )) But it’s wonderful that you’ve come to terms with using food for sedation.

      Reply

    • Rebekah
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 21:21:54

      I love to cut the seeds out of medjool dates and then replace them with raw cashews, almonds, or walnuts – it’s a wonderful crunchy interior to the squishy soft date. Lucas loves having that for a snack and pretending he is biting into the seed. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

