Bored Silly


Over a year ago when I first decided to give up dieting, I tried to eat without distraction as the books suggested and not watch TV or read during lunch. I tried eating alone at the table, but it drove me crazy. So after a few days, I decided to go back to having lunch in the family room while watching a show called, What Not to Wear.

Then I read that if it’s too boring to eat without distraction, then maybe the food is boring. The word resonated with me. So I stocked up on food I particularly enjoy. A couple of days ago as I was eating a scrumptious plate of pasta with chicken, zucchini and mushrooms in a tomato sauce, topped with grated parmesan, I watched What Not to Wear again as usual. Right in the middle of it all, I caught myself paying more attention to the food than the show. In that instant, the message got through to me: if I want to enjoy food to the max, I need to allow myself the luxury of savoring each and every bite.

It dawned on me that I could eat lunch at the table during the first part of the show when fashion experts Stacy and Clinton embarrass the guest (which I’m not that crazy about.) When I’m done eating, I can catch the makeover part of the show, which I like better now that they are featuring women who have some meat on their bones.

Single-tasking is a challenge, but I can’t wait to try it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Nill
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:59:36

    I’ve NEVER gotten the hang of eating mindfully, Norma. I think eating IS boring most of the time. Maybe that’s why any of us overeats! It always seems to me that the IDEA of food is more appealing than the food itself–sort of like it used to be with coffee before lattes were invented (-: I haven’t fully developed this thought, as you can see, but it feels good to begin to express it.

    Reply

    • Norma
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 10:14:01

      I know what you mean. Expressing these thoughts feels good to me, too. Before I gave up dieting, I never would have admitted that eating was boring because I thought the problem was how good food tasted. Now I wonder how often I truly enjoyed it! Thanks for the discussion, Judy. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

