A Waffle and Juice

Breakfast


This morning for breakfast, I was in the mood for a Belgian waffle, so I headed straight to Claire’s Pantry, of which there are several, fortunately, in the greater Seattle area. To me, the perfect Belgian waffle is fresh from the waffle-maker and crispy and golden on the outside while soft on the inside. Although others may delight in covering it with strawberries and whipped cream, I prefer the traditional butter and syrup. Ideally, I would have a sausage patty on the side, but this morning I opted for bacon and a scrambled egg. Every mouthful of the waffle was amazing, and the whole thing was just the right portion to satisfy but not stuff me.

Along with the waffle, I ordered a glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice, which I rarely ever do, even with breakfast. The reason? Because juice was always a huge no-no on any diet I ever went on, particularly low-carb diets. Yet 100% orange juice with the pulp is full of natural vitamin C. While food experts say that a whole fruit is more nutritious and satisfying than juice because it contains all of its original fiber and takes time to eat, they concede that juice with the pulp is a close second.

The diet industry, however, gives many vegetables and fruits, particularly fruit juice, a bad rap. After a year and a half of “not dieting,” I still associate orange juice with carbs and calories.

If you don’t have a history of dieting, there’s no way you could understand why I routinely eat chocolate and potatoes—even bigger dieting no-nos—and yet hesitate to drink orange juice. Just goes to show you how brain-washed I became.

But today, I splurged on the smallest glass of juice available, which was probably 10 ounces, shared it with my husband, and savored every succulent drop.

It almost stole the show.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. veganspoonful
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 07:42:27

    Great post! I love orange juice…and I always feel like I’m nourishing myself when I drink it, especially my immune system. 🙂

    Maybe I’ll get up and make waffles for breakfast tomorrow…

    Reply

  2. Jenna
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 09:54:06

    yes.. for me it was peanut butter. I bought peanut butter for the first time in forever and man it was such a scary, liberating and sad for the past experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

