Thai Green Curry

Green Curry with Eggplant



Now that my whole approach to eating has changed, I’m much more likely to try new foods because I’m not worried about missing the chance to eat an old standby.

If we ate out back in the Dieting Days, I would say to myself, “Look here, Norma, this is your chance to chow down. You’d better order something you’re sure is good and won’t get to have when you go back on the diet on Monday.”

No more of that!

Now I ask, “How hungry am I?” and “what will satisfy me the most?” No sense eating food “just because” it’s healthy if that’s not what I want. On the other hand, if something appeals to me and it’s known to be healthy, so much the better. Among all the options for a given meal, nothing is off-limits.

Today, when we went to the Thai Cottage in Edmonds, I perused the entire menu and ordered Green Curry because it contained Asian eggplant, red and green peppers, basil, and chicken in a coconut-milk sauce.

My mom used to make Fried Eggplant, and I always loved it. Last year sometime, when I rediscovered curried dishes, I also discovered Asian eggplant, which is less bitter than the larger type. I’ve discovered that it’s rich in folic acid and potassium, too. But the reason I chose it today was for the rich, somewhat buttery, slightly sweet, and complex flavor.

Delectable!

Leave a Reply

